NUTS regions

The NUTS (Nomenclature des Unités Territoriales Statistiques) classification is a common statistical classification of regional units of the European Union which is used to collect, produce and disseminate regional statistics.  According to the NUTS classification, the economic territory of the EU is divided into three levels:

  • NUTS 1 – greatest region with administrative functions;
  • NUTS 2 – medium-sized regions, 100 000 to 10 million inhabitants;
  • NUTS 3 – smallest region, mostly also administrative region.

Estonia is not divided at NUTS- 1 and NUTS-2 levels, but the counties are divided into groups at NUTS-3 level as follows:

  • EE001 Northern Estonia (Harju county)
  • EE004 Western Estonia (Hiiu, Lääne, Pärnu and Saare county)
  • EE006 Central Estonia (Järve, Lääne-Viru and Rapla county)
  • EE007 Northeastern Estonia (Ida-Viru county)
  • EE008 Southern Estonia (Jõgeva, Põlva, Tartu, Valga, Viljandi and Võru county)

The NUTS regions have been generated based on the administrative units data of the Estonian Land Board and have been classified based on the Eurostat NUTS classification. Statistics Estonia is the official holder and administrator of NUTS regions.

NUTS 3 level regions